With some of the harshest drunk driving laws in the country, it is surprising that there is even a discussion in the New York legislature about making the driving while intoxicated law stricter. Unfortunately, Gov. Andrew Cuomo has made it quite clear that he would like to make life even more difficult for individuals convicted of multiple DWI charges. While his most recent push was dropped, there are concerns that DWI penalties will be covered before the end of the state legislative session.
According to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, if someone is convicted of three or more DWI charges within 10 years, he or she will lose his or her driver's license for at least 18 months. This is mandatory, but it is also a minimum, meaning that someone could have his or her license permanently revoked.